Satellite campus Bus route details

To Know your Roll Number

The academic year 2024-2025 for freshers will start with Orientation Programme:Satellite Campus:

ALL SF UG & PG – Wednesday, 26 June 2024 at 10.00 a.m. in the Assembly Hall, Chatrapatti.

Main Campus:

All Aided UG & PG and SF PG – Thursday, 27 June 2024 at 10.00 am in the Edward Nolting Hall, Goripalayam.

All Art SF UG – Friday, 28 June 2024 at 10.00 am in the Edward Nolting Hall, Goripalayam.

All Science SF UG – Friday, 28 June 2024 at 10.00 am in the Edward Nolting Hall, Goripalayam.

All students are asked to report at the respective department registration counter at the Flint Square between 8.00 a.m. and 9.45 a.m. Students who have paid the Hostel Fees are asked to report to the respective Hall immediately after their registration at the department counter.


Ensure you bring the following documents with photocopy:

  1. Transfer certificate
  2. Mark statement
  3. student bank account linked with Aadhar
  4. Aadhar card
  5. community certificate
Final Schedule for End–of-Semester Examinations – April 2024.

Our College has been ranked 58 among colleges in India in the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF 2023) released by the Ministry of HRD , Government of India. 0452-2530070 0452-2530070


The object of the college is “to give students of all creeds,primarily of christian community a liberal Christian higher education, to train them in the service of God and humanity and to do such other things as are in harmony with that object.


Purificatus Non Consumptus


The American College,a higher education known for its focus on academic excellence and social relevance. Its pioneering role in the development of College autonomy in India, its successful early implementation of Choice Based Credit System in 1978 and its completion of 135 years of servics bear testimony to the position that the college currently enjoys. Originally founded as a missionaries in 1841, The American College grew into a collegiate department in 1881 at Pasumalai by the initiatives taken by Rev.G.T.Washburn,the Founder-Principal of the college.In the year 1906,the college was shifted to the present campus during the time of the second Principal became independent of the mission in 1934 when an autonomous Governing council was formed to manage it own affairs.Earlier,it was affiliated to the University of Madras and later,it came under the jurisdiction of Madurai Kamaraj University.
With its extreme sensitivity to national policies and community needs, the college has grown from strength to strength. It was one of the first set of seven colleges to be made autonomous by the UGC in 1977-1978.Today the college offers thirty undergraduate and sixteen post-graduate Programmes. There are seven research centres offering M.Phil., and Ph.D Programmes in various disciplines,and two autonomous centres like Department of Applied Sciences (DAS) and Study Centre for Indian Literature in English and Translation (SCILET) receiving national and international attention. Its alumni shine as luminaries internationally as scientists, intellectuals, administrators, corporate managers, statesman and leaders. The College has active theatre groups, National Service Scheme, N.C.C. units and service learning Programme (SLP) that offer students a wide variety of opportunities to serve society. These activities add up to make the campus a vibrant for developing one’s personality.


1. G.T.Washburn, M.A., D.D. 1881 – 1899
2. W.M.Zumbro, M.A.,B.D. 1899 – 1922
3. W.W.Wallace, M.A.,B.D. 1922 – 1927
4. Peter Isacc,B.A.,L.T.(Acting) 1927 – 1928
5. B.S.Stoffer,M.A.,Ph.D. 1928 – 1935
6. Edgar,M.Flint,M.A.,B.Sc.(1935-1937) 1938 – 1943
7. A.Ranjitham,M.A.,L.T.(1935-38) 1943 – 1948
8. K.E.Nainan,M.A.,(Acting) 1948 – 1949
9. S.J.Savarirayan, M.A. 1949 – 1967
10. Manuel A.Thangaraj, M.A.Ph.D(Toronto) 1967 – 1979
11. P.T. Chellappa, B.A.,M.Sc. 1979 – 1985
12. B. Gunaraj, M.A.,A.M.(Boston) 1985 – 1987
13. D. Peter Jayapandian, M.Sc.,Ph.D.(Ohio) 1987 – 1998
14. D. Samuel Sudananda, M.A.,M.Phil.(MKU) M.A.,Ph.D.(Washington) 1998 – 2006
15. T. Chinnaraj Joseph Jaikumar, M.A.(S.W),M.A.(Soc),M.Phil., Ph.D., 2006 – 2010
16. Dr.R.Mohan , M.A.,M.Phil,Ph.D. 2010 – 2011
17. Dr.M.Davamani Christober, M.Sc.,M.Phil.,M.Ed.,PGDCA.,Ph.D., 2011 – Till Now